CD Review- Weezer

220px-Cover_of_Weezer's_White_Album,2016CD Review
White Album
Crush Music
Produced By: Jake Sinclair
Review: Joseph Suto



It is amazing how fast Rivers Cuomo and Company churn out albums sometimes. This one comes just two years after the release of the top 5 Everything Will Be Alright In The End. In this digital age bands generally sell less with each release as compact discs become more obsolete.

The White album is no exception however as it peaked at #4 on the album charts, one slot better than their previous record.

The album continues on with the color scheme to join their Blue, Green and Red self-titled releases. It is considered their Beach album where Cuomo gives a nod to one of his influences The Beach Boys and returns the band to their nineties glory.

“King Of The World” is the key song of the album as it is the strongest song of the three singles released. Other highlights includes opening cut “California Kids” and “Do You Wanna Get High”, the second single which tackles Cuomo’s brief drug addiction to pain killers. The dark horse however is “L.A. Girlz”, a infectious song that chugs along is classic Weezer.

The White album holds its own and has some solid songs that Weezer can add to their already huge catalog. It must really be getting tough for Cuomo to come up with a setlist when preparing to tour. With the theme of summer apparent throughout the White album, this is one that will be blasting from car stereos during the next several months. Their 2001 hit “Island In The Sun” would surely sound right at home on this release.

Track Listing
01. California Kids
02. Wind In Your Sail
03. Thank God For Girls
04. (Girl We Got A) Good Thing
05. Do You Wanna Get High?
06. King Of The World
07. Summer Elaine and Drunk Dori
08. L.A. Girlz
09. Jacked Up
10. Endless Bummer

Order Weezer CD here

About Joseph Suto

Location: Buffalo, NY Photographer/Reviewer
This entry was posted in Concert Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.