CD Review- Bryan Adams

Bryan_Adams_-_Get_Up!CD Review
Bryan Adams
Get Up
Universal Music
Review:Joseph Suto


Get Up marks Bryan Adams thirteenth studio album and is the first to be produced by ELO guru Jeff Lynne. It is no coincidence that the album’s first cut “You Belong To Me” has a Traveling Wilburys type feel to it. The Jeff Lynne influence is heard throughout the nine tracks that make up Get Up.

This album has some swagger with the rebellious “Go Down Rockin” and the cruncher “Thunderbolt”. Surprisingly these two tracks may be the album’s weakest due to the fact there are so many tunes that reach right out and grab you.

The album closes out with a pair of songs that serve as the album’s best in “Yesterday Was Just A Dream” and “Brand New Day”. The latter is also where the album’s title is culled from. “Brand New Day” is a song about hope for the future.

Four acoustic tracks are included which show what the songs sounded like before Lynne grabbed them and transformed them into what they have become. It is interesting to see the songs stripped to just a guitar.

Get Up has eight tracks which feature Adams along with his songwriting partner Jim Vallance who collaborated with Adams during his heyday. It may be a short record with only nine tracks but Adams has given us some more great songs to add to his stable. With the help of Lynne and Vallance, Adams has delivered one of his finest albums in years.

01 You Belong To Me
02 Go Down Rockin’
03 We Did It All
04 That’s Rock and Roll
05 Don’t Even Try
06 Do What Ya Gotta Do
07 Thunderbolt
08 Yesterday Was Just A Dream
09 Brand New Day

Bonus Acoustic Versions
10 Don’t Even Try
11 We Did It All
12 You Belong To Me
13 Brand New Day

For more on Bryan Adams go to

Leave a comment

About Joseph Suto

Location: Buffalo, NY Photographer/Reviewer
This entry was posted in Concert Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.